Govt gives final approval for Mymensingh as country's eighth administrative division

The government has given its final clearance for the proposal to declare Mymensingh as the eighth administrative division.

Published : 14 Sept 2015, 10:19 AM
Updated : 14 Sept 2015, 10:21 AM

The decision came on Monday at a meeting of the National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reorganisation (NICAR).
The division will consist of four districts of Mymensingh, Jamalpur, Sherpur and Netrokona, Cabinet Secretary Muhammad Musharraf Hossain Bhuiyan told reporters after the NICAR meeting.
On Jun 26, the Cabinet cleared the proposal, which kept the districts of Tangail and Kishoreganj in the new division and forwarded it to NICAR for the final nod.
On Monday, the final approval came, but both these two districts were dropped from the new division.

Toufique Imrose Khalidi
Editor-in-Chief and Publisher