BNP wins 2 more Upazilas

Candidates backed by the BNP have been elected chairman in the Upazila council elections at Bandar in Narayanganj and at Naldanga in Natore.

Published : 9 June 2014, 07:37 PM
Updated : 9 June 2014, 07:37 PM

The returning officers announced the results at night following the elections on Monday.

Upazila Executive Officer and Assistant Returning Officer Minara Nazneen declared pro-BNP candidate Ataur Rahman Mukul unofficially elected chairman in Bandar Upazila.

He bagged 19,543 votes while his nearest contestant Jatiya Party-backed Delwar Hossain got 11,132 votes.

Saiful Islam was elected vice-chairman with 15,996 ballots and ‘Mahmuda’ reserved female vice-chairman with 35,044 votes.

BNP-backed aspirants secured all the three posts -- chairman, vice-chairman and female vice-chairman -- in the first polls in newly formed Naldanga Upazila.

Returning Officer Sakhawat Hossain announced the unofficial results at around 10:15pm.

According to the results, Sakhawat Hossain was elected chairman with 35,346 votes while his nearest contestant pro-Awami League KM Firoz polled 29,209 votes.

Ziaur Rahman was elected vice-chairman and Mahua Parvin female vice-chairman in the polls.

Toufique Imrose Khalidi
Editor-in-Chief and Publisher