Govt forms panel to find new deputy governors for Bangladesh Bank

The government has formed a ‘search committee’ to look for likely candidates to replace two Bangladesh Bank deputy governors sacked after a recent cyber heist came to light.

Published : 17 March 2016, 02:51 PM
Updated : 17 March 2016, 02:51 PM

Palli Karma-Sahayak Foundation (PKSF) Chairman Qazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad is heading the panel formed on Thursday.
The committee includes new central bank Governor Fazle Kabir and Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies Director General KAS Murshid and Agrani Bank Chairman Zaid Bakht. 
Bank and Financial Institutions Division Additional Secretary Gokul Chand Das is the panel’s member secretary.
“The committee will do what is necessary to appoint new deputy governors soon. A meeting will be held shortly,” he said.
The government fired deputy governors Nazneen Sultana and Md Abul Quasem after governor Atiur Rahman stepped down on Tuesday following pressure to resign over the $81 million cyber theft.
The money had been shifted by hackers from the Bangladesh Bank account in the Federal Reserve Bank of New York.
After their removal, the central bank now has two deputy governors - Abu Hena Mohd Razee Hassan and SK Sur Chowdhury.

Toufique Imrose Khalidi
Editor-in-Chief and Publisher