At least 31 opposition candidates boycott polls alleging vote rigging

At least 31 opposition candidates have boycotted 11th national parliamentary election alleging ‘vote rigging’ and intimidation during voting.

Staff Correspondentand District
Published : 30 Dec 2018, 02:25 PM
Updated : 30 Dec 2018, 03:07 PM

Several independent candidates, including Salma Islam from Dhaka 1 and Imran H Sarker of Kurigram-4, withdrew their candidacy from the polls.

Voting began at 8 am and ended at 4 pm on Sunday amid sporadic violence and clashes across Bangladesh.

Other candidates who pulled out their races were Andaleeve Rahman Partho from Dhaka-17, Abu Hena from Rajshahi-4, Rakibul Islam Bokul from Khulna-3, Azizul Bari Helal from Khulna-4, Amir Ezaz Khan from Khulan-1, Golam Porwar from Khluna-5, Abul Kalam Azad from Khulna-6, Romana Morshed Kanak Chapa from Sirajganj-1, Rumana Mahmud from Sirajganj-2, Abdul Mannan Talukder from Sirajganj-3, Rafiqul Islam Khan  from Sirajganj-4, Amirul Islam Khan from Sirajganj-5, AHM Khalequzzaman from Mymensing-8, Fahim Chowdhury from Sherpur-2, Mahmudul Haque Rubel from Sherpur-3, Abdul Khaleque from Shatkhira-2, Gazi Nazrul Islam from Shatkhira-4, Milton Baidya from Madaripur-2, Al Amin Molla from Madaripur-2, Anisur Rahman Talukder from Madaripur-3, AEM Khalilur Rahman from Joypurhat-2, ASM Muktadir Titas Mustafa from Joypurhat-2, Md Sheikh Masud Rana from Bagerhat-1, MA Salam from Bagerhat-2, Mohammad Abdul Wadud Sheikh from Bagerhat-3, Md Abdul Alim from Bagerhat-4,  Joynal Abedin also known as VP Jonal from Feni-2, Munshi Rafiqul Islam from Feni-1, Akbar Hossain from Feni-3  Md Majedur Rahman from Gaibandha-1, Mihir Ghosh from Gaibandha-2, Kazi Mashiur Rahman from Gaibandha-4, Golam Shaheed Ranju from Gaibandha-5, Azizur Rahman from Kurigram-4 and CM Sadik from Rangpur-1.

Toufique Imrose Khalidi
Editor-in-Chief and Publisher