15 personalities receive Ekushey Padak

Prime minister Sheikh Hasina hands over the highest state award to the eminent citizens updates

Published : 19 Feb 2012, 11:54 PM
Updated : 19 Feb 2012, 11:54 PM
Dhaka, Feb 20 (bdnews24.com) -- Prime minister Sheikh Hasina on Monday handed over the highest state award 'Ekushey Padak-2012' to 15 distinguished recipients.
The awards were given at a function in the city's Osmani Memorial Auditorium on Monday morning.
Seven personalities have been awarded posthumously for their contribution to the society.
The posthumous awards have been bestowed upon professor A K Nazmul Karim for education, Tareque Masud and Mobinul Azim for fine arts, Mamtaz Begum for language movement, professor Humayun Azad for language and literature and Ehtesham Haider Chowdhury and Ashfak (Mishuk) Munier for journalism.
The other recipients are Dr Mansurul Alam Khan and professor Ajay Kumar Roy for education, professor Karunamoy Goswami, Mamunur Rashid and Dr Enamul Haque for fine arts, Srimat Shuddananda Mahathero for social work, Habibur Rahman Milon for journalism and professor Baren Chakrabarty for science and technology.
The government announced the names of the nominees for this prestigious award on Feb 9.
Each award carries a gold medal, Tk 100,000 and a citation.