Salman new chairman of IFIC Bank

Vice chairman of Beximco Group Salman F Rahman has been unanimously elected chairman of IFIC Bank Limited.
Published : 27 July 2010, 09:45 AM
Updated : 27 July 2010, 09:45 AM
Dhaka, July 27 (—Vice chairman of Beximco Group Salman F Rahman has been unanimously elected chairman of IFIC Bank Limited.
An emergency meeting of the board of directors on Monday chose Salman, a sponsor shareholder of one of the leading banks, for the key post, says a press release.
The meeting, presided over by the immediate past chairman Mohammad Lutfar Rahman, the shareholders at the 33rd annual general meeting held on the same day, elected him a director of the bank.
The Group, the largest private sector industrial conglomerate in Bangladesh employing as many as around 35,000 people, has interests in textile, pharmaceuticals, ceramics, real estates, jute, it sectors.
With a turnover of Tk 18.5 billion until 2009--the latest figures available--Beximco has five publicly listed companies and sixteen private companies.
Salman heads the board of editors of the Independent, a leading daily English-language newspaper, and also helms the Bangladesh Association of Pharmaceutical Industries.
The Beximco boss is also chairman of the board of governors of Bangladesh Enterprise Institute, a private research firm, and president of the Bangladesh Association of Publicly Listed Companies. He is the chairman of the Abahani Limited, one of leading Premier Division sporting clubs in football, cricket and hockey.
At the AGM, the shareholders approved the Balance Sheet & Profit and Loss Account of the Bank for the year 2009 and also 25 percent bonus share in dividend for 2009.
Members of board of director -- Abu Tahir Mohammad Golam Maruf, Aminur Rahman, Syed Anisul Huq, Mohammed Nayem Syed, S M Faruqi Hasan, Tanim Noman Sattar, Mahmudul Huq Bhuiyan, Mohammad Ali Khan and Syed Monjurul Islam, and managing director Mosharraf Hossain also attended the AGM at the Bashundhara Convention Centre in Dhaka.
The shareholders also approved re-nomination of four government-nominated directors-- Mahmudul Huq Bhuiyan, Mohammad Ali Khan, Syed Monjurul Islam and Arastoo Khan.
Toufique Imrose Khalidi
Editor-in-Chief and Publisher