Bangladesh Air Force, 15 individuals win Independence Award 2017

Bangladesh Air Force (BAF) is getting the highest state honour in recognition of its outstanding contribution to the nation.

Published : 16 Feb 2017, 02:08 PM
Updated : 16 Feb 2017, 03:44 PM

The force with the slogan - "Free shall we keep the sky of Bangladesh" - has been chosen for this year's Swadhinata Padak or Independence Award.

Along with the BAF, 15 individuals have also been named for the award this time, the Cabinet Division said in a statement on Thursday.

Six persons are getting the award under independence and Liberation War category. They are retired group captain Shamsul Alam Bir Uttam, Ashraful Alam, late Syed Mohsin Ali, martyrs Md Nazmul Haque,  NM Nazmul Ahsan and Faizur Rahman Ahmed.

The Independence Award for literature goes to Rabeya Khatun and late Golam Samdani Koraishi.

Professor Dr Enamul Haque and Ustad Bazlur Rahman Badal are getting the award in culture.

Professor Dr AHM Touhidul Anowar Chawdhury has been chosen for his contribution to medical science and Khalil Kazi for social service.

Shamsuzzaman Khan and late Professor Dr Lalit Mohan Nath will receive the award under research and training category. Professor Mohammad Asaduzzaman is getting it for public administration.

Toufique Imrose Khalidi
Editor-in-Chief and Publisher