Dhaka Metrorail to carry 60,000 people per hour

Each of the 56 trains in the proposed Metrorail mass transit system will carry 1,800 passengers and will run every four minutes, or 60,000 people every hour.

Shamim Ahmedbdnews24.com
Published : 22 Sept 2014, 06:05 PM
Updated : 23 Sept 2014, 05:51 AM

The tracks will run above the middle of roads, starting from Uttara and ending at Motijheel. Each train will take less than 40 minutes to run the whole distance.

Speaking to bdnews24.com, Metrorail Project Director Md Mofazzal Hossain said each train will have six coaches.

“Assuming there will be eight people per square metre at the busiest hour, each train will be able to carry 1,800 people,” he said.

Of the total cost of Tk 220 billion, JICA, the agency that coordinates development assistance on behalf of the government of Japan, will provide Tk 165.95 billion. The Bangladesh government will take care of the remaining Tk 53.90 billion.

The Metrorail’s detailed design will be finalised in July next year, he said. The project will be completed by 2019.

Call for eight bids for construction

The Metrorail Project is preparing to invite eight bids for six construction packages.

“Primarily we’ll invite the bids for the construction of the Metrorail Depot at Uttara Third Phase in December,” Hossain said.

“From early next year you’ll see the construction work begin.”
“Serially we’ll invite four bids for the bridge and the stations, one for the rail coach purchase and another for the electrical mechanical works,” he said.
The bidding process will continue until 2017.
An electric train has been introduced in India’s Mumbai this year. The one in Dhaka is being built in the same model. The Metrorail will run over the middle of the road.
Its bridge will be about two-storey high and the stations will have two floors.
“We’ll build this 21 kilometres long bridge first and then lay tracks on it,” Hossain said.
“The first floor of the stations will have automated doors and ticket booths,” he said.
The stations will be 180 metres long. There will be no air conditioning at the stations.
During the construction project five temporary construction yards will be built and the work will be done from 11pm to 6am.
The cabinet on principle approved a law related to land acquisition for the Metrorail on Apr 28.
ECNEC approved the project in 2012.
The 16 Metrorail stations will be Uttara (North), Uttara (Centre), Uttara (South), Pallabi, IMT, Mirpur 10, Kaziparha, Taltala, Agargaon, Bijoy Sarani, Farmgate, Sonargaon, National Museum, Doel Chattar, Bangabandhu National Stadium and Bangladesh Bank.
Toufique Imrose Khalidi
Editor-in-Chief and Publisher