Election violence kills at least 17, mostly from Awami League 

At least 17 people, mostly activists of the Awami League, have been killed in violence during the 11th national election, which ended amid reports of clashes and attacks on Sunday.

News Deskbdnews24.com
Published : 30 Dec 2018, 11:28 AM
Updated : 30 Dec 2018, 06:22 PM

Several more are injured, but their total figure is yet to be confirmed.

Awami League

* 40-year-old Jubo League leader Md Liakat Hossain is hacked to death outside a voting centre at Gazipur’s Harinal around 1:30pm. 

* Ajijul Haque, an assistant secretary of the Jubo League at Paikol Union, is hacked to death while handing slips to voters outside a polling centre at Bogura’s Kahalu Upazila around 12pm.   

* 40-year-old Modasser Ali, an Awami League activist, is beaten dead in violence at Pachandar Union at Rajshahi.

* Awami League activist Mirajul Islam stabbed to death in clashes with BNP supporters who had allegedly tried to take control of a voting centre at Rajshahi.    

* 17-year-old Awami League activist shot dead in clashes as ‘unknown miscreants’ attack Grand Alliance candidate Moktadir Chowdhury at Rajghar of Brahmanbaria Sadar.

* 23-year-old Jubo League activist Md Abdullah hacked to death in “clashes between Awami League and BNP supporters” at Toitong of Cox’s Bazar’s Pekua Upazila at around 11am.

* Jubo League activist Dwin Mohammad was killed in an attack by alleged BNP activists at Patia’s Guronkhain on Saturday night.

* Md Basir Uddin, Jubo League’s general secretary at Ghagra Union, is killed at Rangamati’s Kawkhali in a clash with BNP supporters around 6:30am Sunday.

* 55-year-old Hossain Ali, an Awami League activist and poll volunteer, is stabbed to death by his nephew during an argument about the election at Natore's Noldanga.      

BNP-Oikya Jote

* 62-year-old Tojammel Haque, a publications secretary for BNP at Lalmonirhat’s Rajpur Union, dies after being injured in back-to-back clashes at Paglarhat Government Primary School.   

* 85-year-old Shamsur Rahman, a polling agent of the BNP, is beaten to death by Awami League supporters while on his way to voting centre at Jashore’s Abhaynagar. 

* 18-year-old BNP activist Sadek killed in clashes with Awami League activists over attempt to take control of voting centre at Chittagong’s Patia.

* 35-year-old Mujibur Rahman is shot dead as police open fire on supporters of BNP-LDP candidate Redwan Ahad who tried to storm a voting centre at Cumilla’s Chandina around 11am.

* 50-year-old Bachchu Miah dies as rivals clash at Cumilla's Langolkot.  

* Chhatra Dal leader Ali Ahmad Sayem shot dead while trying to snatch away ballots amid a clash at Sylhet’s Balaganj on Sunday afternoon. 

Jatiya Party

* 45-year-old Ahmad Kabir, a Jatiya Party activist, killed in fighting among supporters of Jamaat, Jatiya Party and police personnel on Saturday night.

 Security forces

* Nur Nabi Henru, an Ansar member (corrected), shot dead by BNP and Jamaat-e-Islami activists who attacked a voting centre at Gopalpur Union in Noakhali’s Begumganj around 12pm.  

Toufique Imrose Khalidi
Editor-in-Chief and Publisher