Bangladesh slip to poor total against New Zealand

Bangladesh have been bowled out for a poor total of 244 in the final over of their second World Cup match against a clinical New Zealand.

Ariful Islam Roneyfrom
Published : 5 June 2019, 12:20 PM
Updated : 5 June 2019, 05:38 PM

The Tigers crumbled in the face of tight bowling and fine fielding by the Kiwis at the Oval on Wednesday as pacer Matt Henry starred with 4 for 47 including two in two balls in the 50th over.

Bangladesh got off to a sedate start as the openers struggled to get the boundaries early on.

Against South Africa, Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim took the game away but the wicketkeeper-batsman ran himself out on 19 after getting start following a terrible mix-up with his partner in the 24th over.

Henry and Trent Boult, who took 2 for 44, and Lockie Ferguson set things up with the new ball and the Tigers could not quite find any loose balls to attack.

Soumya began to hit the ball sweetly but he could not carry on for long as Henry dismissed him for 25, cutting the opening stand short at 45.

Tamim Iqbal (24) departed soon and there was some sort of a recovery with Mushfiqur and Shakib adding 50 for the third wicket.

Shakib was the lone batsman to hit a fifty but he gave his wicket away to Collin de Grandhomme against the run of play for 64, trying to run one down fine in the 31st over.

Bangladesh's Shakib Al Hasan during the match. ICC Cricket World Cup - Bangladesh v New Zealand - The Oval, London, Britain - June 5, 2019. Action Images via Reuters

The Tigers managed to get small partnerships but none went big as five in the top six wasted their starts.

Mahmudullah and Mosaddek Hossain, who contributed heavily to Bangladesh’s highest ODI total of 330 in the last match, failed to take their team out of the woods this time after Henry claimed Mohammad Mithun in the 38th over.

Mohammad Shaifuddin provided some big hits in the death overs as Bangladesh lost their last five wickets in seven overs with Henry finishing off Bangladesh's innings.

Bangladesh fans. ICC Cricket World Cup - Bangladesh v New Zealand - The Oval, London, Britain - June 5, 2019. Action Images via Reuters

Earlier, when New Zealand won the toss and opted to field first, skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza admitted that he would have liked to bowl first despite a strong batting performance in the win against South Africa at the same ground.

The Tigers aimed to build on the positive momentum against the Kiwis, having named an unchanged line-up from the match against the Proteas.

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (c), Mustafizur Rahman.

New Zealand (Playing XI): Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.