10 BNP-Jamaat men jailed for 2013 arson attack on police vehicle

The verdict comes amid similar ongoing protests by the opposition parties

Court Correspondentbdnews24.com
Published : 2 Nov 2023, 06:57 PM
Updated : 2 Nov 2023, 06:57 PM

A Dhaka court has handed down different jail terms to 10 people from the BNP and the Jamaat-e-Islami for torching and vandalising a police vehicle during violent protests a decade ago.

The verdict of Dhaka Metropolitan Magistrate Sheikh Sadi came on Thursday with none of the convicts present amid similar ongoing protests by the opposition parties.

Defence lawyer Mohiuddin Chowdhury said the court issued arrest warrants for the convicts, who include former city corporation councillor Makbul Hossain Tipu.

Tipu, his accomplices Abdul Qader, Rafiqul Islam alias Moyna and Omar Nabi alias Babu were sentenced to two and half years in jail, along with Tk 2,000 in fines for each. Failure to pay the fines will add seven days imprisonment without labour.

Jaber Hossain, Saiful Islam, Md Saleh, Mahmud Hossain alias Robin, Md Litton and Mahbubur Rahman were sentenced to six-month rigorous imprisonment along with two and half years jail term on different charges. They were also fined Tk 2,000 each, failure to pay which will add seven days to their jail terms without labour.

According to the case, around 12 to 13 people hurled a petrol bomb at a police vehicle on Dec 9, 2013 amidst the BNP-Jamaat protests ahead of the 10th general election. A brick hurled by them also shattered the glass of the vehicle, it added.

The police vehicle’s driver Nayek Hemanta Kumar Roy filed a case with Gendaria Police Station and police later submitted a chargesheet accusing the 10 after investigation.