15-member squad of physically challenged Tigers announced

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 tournament for physically challenged.

Sports Correspondentbdnews24.com
Published : 29 August 2015, 06:51 PM
Updated : 29 August 2015, 06:51 PM

BCB while announcing the squad on Saturday said Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina would inaugurate the tournament.

The BCB Physically Challenged Cricket Team will play the first match against England on Wednesday while the other matches will be played at the BKSP.

The opener between Bangladesh and England is open for all, but the other matches can be watched from the stands “on request”.

The other teams in the tournament are India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan.

A total of 11 matches will be played in the competition. The rest of the matches, including the final on Sept 10, will be played at Savar's BKSP.

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) is organising the tournament. bdnews24.com is the media partner of the event.

In March, the ICRC organised a ‘Talent Hunt Camp’ to identify 26 physically handicapped cricketers among 149 participants to represent Bangladesh in the five-nation international tournament.

The Squad (Captain will be declared later)

SM Shaharia Shamim, Md Monirujjaman, Md Amin Uddin, Md Alam Khan, Apurbo Kumar Paul, Drupam Patranabish Tirtho, Md Suzaul Islam, Rifat Hossain Bappy, Md Rasel Sikder, Md Mamunur Rashid, Md Sana Ullah, Md Nasim, Md Jahid Hasan, Shariful Islam, Faisal Khan Shumit.

Reserve bench

Shaon Mahmud, Sujan Debnath and Saiful Islam Khan.

Team officials

Masud Hasan (Manager and Head Coach), Md. Rashed Iqbal (Assistant Coach), Rayhan Gaffar Saymon (Fielding Coach) and Kazi Emdadul Haq (Team physio).

Toufique Imrose Khalidi
Editor-in-Chief and Publisher