Bangladesh general election at a glance: Awami League has 260 candidates, BNP fields 257
Bangladesh is going to polls on Dec 30, 2018 to elect the members of parliament.
Mashrafe is a diamond, says Sheikh Hasina
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has urged voters to elect Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, the illustrious ODI cricket captain and Awami League candidate for Narail-2, in the Dec 30 polls.
Winner takes all: Awami League soars in vote percentage, BNP drowns in record loss
The Awami League has received a record percentage of votes in the recent general election that also served BNP its biggest ever defeat.
Who are the Awami League candidates?
The ruling Awami League has given its initial approval to the candidates who will compete for the party in the coming 11th parliamentary election.
Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan
BNP leader Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan, the Jatiya Oikya Front candidate for the Brahmanbaria-2, has won the parliamentary constituency after re-voting in three centres.
Voting progresses in three centres of Brahmanbaria-2
Voters have started casting ballots at the three polling centres in Brahmanbaria-2 where voting was suspended by the Election Commission on Dec 30 due to election-related violence and irregularities.
UN calls for probe into election-related human rights violations in Bangladesh
The UN High Commissioner for Human Rights has urged the Bangladesh authorities "to carry out prompt, independent, impartial and effective investigations" into all alleged acts of violence and human ri ...
A sense of relief and elation at the EC as ‘no country rejected election results’
An air of accomplishment and relief permeated the Election Commission on Thursday after the end of parliamentary elections marred by deadly violence and allegations of widespread rigging and other irr ...
Toufique Imrose Khalidi
Editor-in-Chief and Publisher